Funeral Insurance

I was very fortunate to be able to spend a morning at PRONI in September.  It is without a doubt the most friendly and welcoming archive I’ve ever used.  The Public Record Office of Northern Ireland is in a new purpose built building in the Titanic Quarter in Belfast.  We were welcomed with great warmth by every staff member we encountered.  I particularly enjoyed the initial interview with an archivist offered to all new researchers which greatly helped me plan what resources to use.

IMG_0820

 

I found one will which I found interesting and quirky.  In 1838 Hannah LENNON of Corrague near Portaferry, bequeathed one shilling to her son, John as “he having already received from me at different times Thirty pounds Stg”.  Mmm, mum wasn’t happy with him when she wrote her will. She left all her money and property to her daughter, Mary MAGUIRE, sons Thomas and Patrick and grandson James MURPHY.  She finished by instructing her executors to “finally I desire the Cow to be sold and all my funeral charges to be paid”.

IMG_2688  blog

St Patrick’s Catholic Graveyard at Portaferry

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Funeral Insurance

  1. GeniAus says:

    Thanks for PRONI insight Jen. I look forward to visiting in June.

    Like

Leave a Reply

