Irish, Scottish and German family history research roadshow coming in August

I was honoured but surprised when I received an email last week from Unlock the Past’s Alan Phillips inviting me to be an Ambassador for the upcoming 2 day “Researching Abroad” seminar in August.  I am such an intermittent blogger that I never expected to be doing this along with my blogging heroes.

We are talking about a 1 or 2 day seminar focussed on the British Isles and German research in Adelaide, Auckland, Brisbane, Sydney, Melbourne, Canberra and Perth.

But I am more than happy to promote this series of talks as I can genuinely recommend the wonderful Chris Paton as I heard him speak on a 2014 UTP Genealogy cruise.  I never expected to have the opportunity to hear him again so I am personally thrilled to have the opportunity. I follow Chris’ blog, The Genes Blog and invariably learn of a new Irish, Scottish or British resource to investigate.

Chris is very good at sharing his exceptional knowledge of Irish and Scottish family history research.  He is a professional genealogist who was born in Northern Ireland and lives now in Scotland. He is the author of the number of UTP titles about Scottish and Irish research.

I am looking forward to hearing Dirk Weissleder speak as I have German ancestry and no likely opportunity to travel there so I’m hoping to pick up some ideas from his talks. Today, I found an interview GeniAus (aka Jill Ball) did with him at Rootstech earlier this year which I recommend to you.

We are very fortunate that UTP and Gould Genealogy are prepared to give us the opportunity to hear these 2 International speakers in our capital cities and Auckland in NZ.  I think the price is very reasonable when you compare it to other offerings.  The 2 day ticket costs $87 or the 1 day ticket is $57.

As a  keen researcher in Adelaide, I was able to attend the 2 day DNA seminar org by UTP earlier this year at our German club.  It is at 223 Flinders St in the city (between Frome St and Hutt St) and is fairly convenient for those travelling into town by public transport.  I looked at the Adelaide Metro site and it looks like you can get off the Free City Loop bus in Hutt St. I found that car parking wasn’t difficult either.

Check out the  Adelaide programme and booking details online or check out the details of the event in other cities.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Irish, Scottish and German family history research roadshow coming in August

  1. Hope to see you there!

    Like

Leave a Reply

