My Baptism

#52 Ancestors in 52 Weeks

PRESERVATION

I was baptised in St Joseph’s Catholic Church in Warrnambool in 1948 and here are some photos to prove it!

St Joseph’s Catholic church in Warrnambool, Vic in 2021 (J. Gay)
1948 Studio portrait of Jenni in her Baptismal gown

This is the blanket I’m lying on in the photo above which I’ve looked after for several decades. I don’t know who knitted it but it must have taken ages as it’s a complicated pattern using very fine wool. I don’t imagine Mum knitted it as she could knit and taught me but she was like me, a plain knitter. Sadly, there are a number of holes courtesy of moths or silverfish; while I’ve been careful with it’s preservation for a few decades, the previous decades weren’t done well.

1948 Nana Alma LENNON HOUSE with baby Jenni – I imagine the baptismal dress was made by Great Aunt Elsie as she was a dressmaker

1948 Jenni with her parents
Again some very fine knitting in silk, I think. Somebody went to a lot of trouble for me.
Pillow case for my pram – again probably sewn by Auntie Elsie LENNON
I’m amazed at the beautiful work in this matching pram blanket – again, probably sewn by great auntie, Elsie LENNON

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment